Okay, people, just because you found this page by Googling “North American Handico” does not mean that this is Handico’s website! In fact, it’s not! Their website is handico.net. If you have issues with them, feel free to leave a comment about that, but please do not harass me via comments or my contact form, I have nothing to do with this company! Please read the post in its entirety as this will further that thought!

Normally I wouldn’t have looked into this call, but when I said I wasn’t interested, I was rather rudely hung up on, so I did some Googling.

A few minutes ago, I received a call from (303) 233-3912, from someone calling themselves North American Handico. The woman on the line spoke slowly and clearly, where I could understand her, I’ll give her that. She stated that they were not a charity but that they were a place that employs handicapped people and they sell products. That right there means they can’t call me as I’m on every no-call list known to mankind. If they’re selling stuff and I’m not already a customer, as far as I’m aware, they cannot call me. (Can you tell I’m currently in a bad mood? I’m sick today. Blah.) Their website, even if in round-about ways, refers to themselves as telemarketers.

Anyway, I didn’t want to be rude, so I listened to what she had to say. She stated that though you can get these “various items” from your local store, they can send them to you and let you check them out before you pay. Not only have I never heard of these people before, but I really don’t have any money right now, nor do I have need for anything right now, honestly. So I politely tell her that I am just not interested right now. She then hung up on me! Not even a “thank you for your time”!

Their website is apparently handico.net and… The title on the main page? 404. The design? It makes my eyes hurt. Anyway, their website claims they sell light bulbs that will not burn out or break for 10 years, trash bags, zip lock bags, air fresheners, all purpose cleaners, cookies, and greeting cards. Suddenly I see how they make money… $39.95 for five pounds of cookies? $39.95 for 50-75 trash bags? Wow.

Now, I’m sure this is a good company and I’m not trying to put anyone down here. But what is bothering me here, is the whole telemarketing thing. We all know how I hate hate hate unsolicited phone calls. I am on no-call lists, there is no reason I should be getting phone calls about this. Furthermore, people around the internet are reporting many many more calls with hangups, and even early morning calls and the name of the company was blocked from my callerID (just the number was visible).

The website gives their no-call policy as such:

WE ONLY WANT TO SPEAK TO YOU IF YOU ARE INTERESTED WITH OUR COMPANY. IF YOU ANY REASON YOU ARE DISSATISFIED OR SIMPLY ARE TIRED OF THE PHONE CALLS IT IS VERY SIMPLE TO STOP. ALL WE ASK IS THAT YOU EMAIL US AT MNEWBURG1@MSN.COM OR CALL OUR TOLL FREE NUMBER AND WE WILL BE HAPPY TO REMOVE YOU FROM OUR CALLING LISTS. PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR PHONE NUMBER WITH AREA CODE. WE APRECIATE ALL YOUR HELP AND OUR GOAL IS TO HAVE SATISFIED CUSTOMERS THAT WANT TO HEAR FROM US.

I mean, that just really raises a lot of red flags for me. That’s it, too, word-for-word, all caps, “APRECIATE” and all. I would think that a company that’s been in business since 2005 and that has a website would at least have an email address routed through said website. MSN, Gmail, Hotmail, Yahoo, or other free account addresses associated as a business’s main email address always strike me strange. But the second sentence in that quote really stands out at me: if for any reason you are simply tired of our phone calls, let us know! How about… don’t call people who are on no-call lists? There’s a reason these people are on those lists, and most of those people aren’t going to want to voluntarily verify their phone numbers (not to mention their email addresses) with you!

Okay, enough ranting about annoying calls.