I love having callerID (the callerID I *don’t* have), really, I do. Anyway, over the last several weeks, it seems the number 866-660-6940 has been calling me constantly. Of course, the calls have always happened to come when I wasn’t here. Until yesterday.

I was sitting here at the desk when the call came through. I answered and there was just dead air. I said hello a couple of times and was a second from hanging up when someone answered. She asked me if this was “Hollyfield web design.” Now, first of all, if you’re going to call me, at least say my name right, please. Second of all, the second she asked for that, I knew where they’d gotten my number: the whois information on any domain registered by me for me or by me for someone else.

So I am trying to find out who they are and I just can’t understand anything she says. Finally I ask her where they got the number and I can’t understand what she says. I say we’re on the no-call lists and she just ignores me and starts in on her speal. So I say not to ever call me again and hang up.

Then today, they call me again. I can’t tell if it’s the same lady, I can’t hardly understand her, either. Again she asks for “Hollyfield Web Design.”

I cut her off immediately and ask her where she got the phone number. She says, “we have a variety of sources.”

“Like Whois information on domains, right?” I say.

She won’t admit it and I’ve got to repeat myself and she starts in on how she’d like to verify business information for “Hollyfield Web Design.” She asks me a question about the phone number and I don’t understand her, she repeats herself, and I tell her, look, the only place that I am listed by web design is on Whois information for domain names and that by calling me and soliciting she’s violating the terms of service for Whois lookups. Of course, I don’t know that it’s true, but I say it anyway. She says they’re not selling anything, but — and I cut her off and tell her that, look we’re on the no call lists as well. She ignores me and starts her speal. I cut her off again and say, “just take me off your list, okay?” Then I hang up.

An internet search on the phone number turns up several interesting sites, http://www.lissakay.com/index.php/weblog/comments/hello-experian/ being the most interesting one, imo.

This is unfair. :P

I have been getting all sorts of mail for years regarding domain name renewals and such (from stupid people that try to tell me my domain expired in 2004 when it was really 2005 at that time, etc.) and now that mail is starting to expand to credit card offers, etc. So, obviously, the people getting my information off my Whois are not only bothering me, but selling my name so that other people can bother me! And now I’m getting phone calls. I can’t remember if I posted about the guy who called me about little-light.net? He was trying to sell me search engine optimization or something.

So, I’m required to keep my Whois information on my domain accurate, but yet those people are allowed to pull my information and bug me, even when I’m on the no-call lists (Missouri and national). It just doesn’t make sense.

And, yes, you can get services to privatize your info – but at GoDaddy’s that’s another $10 per domain. And when you’re renewing/registering many domains, that’s just out of the question. And plus, isn’t GoDaddy under fire right now for turning over some guy’s “private” info to a lawyer, “just like that”?

Oh, don’t get me started.